United Nations
Supporting a Blue Commonwealth
by Commonwealth Secretariat (Intergovernmental organization)
The Commonwealth Secretariat commits to support all Commonwealth member countries, and especially vulnerable states and small island developing states, in their work to transition to 'Blue Economies' and to do so in line with the Commonwealth Charter and the Sustainable Development Goals. We recognize the necessity to preserve ocean health while relying on ocean resources for sustainable economic development.

The Commonwealth is a voluntary association of 52 independent and equal sovereign states. The Commonwealth is home to 2.4 billion people and includes both advanced economies and developing countries. Forty-five of our members are coastal states. Thirty of our members are small states, many of which are island nations. Our shared values and principles are inscribed in the Commonwealth Charter, which includes a commitment to sustainable development.

The Commonwealth Secretariat Oceans and Natural Resources Division provides technical assistance to Commonwealth member states towards sustainable development of marine resources.
Progress reports
December 2030
Technical advisory support for Commonwealth member countries towards ocean good governance, including development and implementation of policy, legal frameworks, and institutional arrangements that promote and support the sustainable management of marine resources.
Staff / Technical expertise
The Commonwealth Secretariat
Basic information
Time-frame: 2017 May - 2030 December
Commonwealth member countries (Governments)
Ocean Basins
  • Global
Beneficiary countries
Other beneficaries
Contact information
Hannah Lily, Legal Adviser (Oceans and Natural Resources), h.lily@commonwealth.int, +44 (0) 7587 656638
Other SDGs
United Nations